District 3 Elk Grove City Council race expands to 6 candidates

In filings last week and on Monday, July 27, the field for the Elk Grove City Council District 3 race could be as many as six candidates appearing on the ballot.

The latest candidates to file papers at the Elk Grove City Council City Clerk's office are Daron Whitley and Alejandro Gutierrez-Duncan. They join previously declared candidates Maureen Craft, Amandeep Singh, Kevin Spease, and Lynn Wheat.

Should all six meet requirements by August 7, the race for the seat will create one of the more crowded city council races in recent years. In 2014 District 2 Elk Grove City Councilmember Pat Hume and then-mayor Gary Davis were unopposed as was Steve Detrick for his second term in 2012.

This year Detrick decided against running for a fourth term. Along with being an open seat, the race has drawn interest as this is the first year city council representative will be elected on a by-dsitrict and not a citywide basis as they were in 2018 and prior years.

Of those six candidates, three have previously run for office in Elk Grove. Wheat was in the city's first directly elected mayor's race in 2012, and in 2016 Spease ran for mayor, and Craft ran for District 3. Gutierrez-Duncan and Whitley have not previously run for office in Elk Grove. 

Copyright by Elk Grove News © 2020. All right reserved.

Post a Comment Default Comments

Follow Us



Elk Grove News Minute

All previous Elk Grove News Minutes, interviews, and Dan Schmitt's Ya' Gotta be Schmittin' Me podcasts are now available on iTunes

Elk Grove News Podcast