Elk Grove drops five members from 10 person Diversity and Inclusion Commission

After a hearing lasting almost two hours during their Wednesday, January 12 meeting, the Elk Grove City Council installed five new members on the 10-person Diversity and Inclusion Commission.  All 10 positions on the commissioner were open after Elk Grove Mayor Bobbie Singh-Allen sought new members.

As first reported in the staff report released last week, there were 35 applicants. However, during the meeting, Elk Grove City Clerk Jason Lindgren revealed there were 39 applicants who qualified for consideration.

Following a brief presentation by Lindgren, the city council heard from many of the applicants during a public comment period that lasted about an hour. After accepting the applicants' comments, the city council started a process lasting about 30 minutes to determine membership that can be charitably described as muddled. 

While the mayor has the responsibility and privilege to nominate members, Singh-Allen asked her council members first to consider reappointing five current members. As part of this reappointment, Singh-Allen requested her council members to each provide their choices of the five members to reappoint and to replicate the process for the five new members. 

After their deliberations, the city council decided on the following people for the commission:
Reappointed commissioners

Jinky Dolar
Tina Lee-Vogt
Bhavin Parikh
Gurjatinder Singh Randhawa 
Jessica Carter

New commissioners

Jesus Tarango, Jr. 
Mia Foster
Michael Thomas
Jace Huggins
Delia Baulwin.

You may not like us, but here you are!
Follow us on Twitter @ElkGroveNews
Follow us on YouTube
Copyright by Elk Grove News © 2022. All right reserved.



Regional News 2773640905740768636

Post a Comment Default Comments

Follow Us



Elk Grove News Minute

All previous Elk Grove News Minutes, interviews, and Dan Schmitt's Ya' Gotta be Schmittin' Me podcasts are now available on iTunes

Elk Grove News Podcast